The Cathedral Concert Series, a program of the Diocese of Knoxville Music Commission, is dedicated to providing the community with free/low-cost opportunities to experience local, regional, national, and international sacred and classical music ensembles in the effort to support the Arts and foster appreciation for Sacred Music in East Tennessee. For more information, please contact Glenn Kahler (865) 558-4113

The Diocese of Knoxville Music Commission represents all quarters of the Diocese and serves the Diocese of Knoxville’s laity and clergy. It provides support services and resource management of worship music at both the parish and Diocesan levels. The Commission also acts as a liaison between the office of the Bishop and the local parish musicians.

The Commission meets regularly and manages an active roster of activities with the following mission: To promote the Gospel message of Jesus to the glory of God the Father through the mastery of musicianship in service to the Church, to protect the Church’s great repository of sacred music, to preserve the musical traditions of the Church, and those grown organically from them in full accordance with the Liturgy Documents, to support the New Evangelization by fostering respect and appreciation for sacred music in East Tennessee with the mind toward the ecumenical, and to support and enrich the activities pertaining to worship, education, and service of all Diocese of Knoxville Music Ministers.

Upcoming Event

Tennessee Wind Symphony
Tennessee Wind Symphony: Fall Concert, featuring the music of Mikhail Ipolitov-Ivanor, John Philip Sousa, Julie Giroux, and more.

The Cathedral Concert Series is pleased to present the Tennessee Wind Symphony, under the direction of Dr. John Culvahouse, in a concert dedicated to music arranged for a symphonic band.

Featuring the music of Jaiikhail Ipolitov-Ivanor, John Philip Sousa, Julie Giroux, and more.

The TWS has performed in Washington, DC, London, England, and at Carnegie Hall, New York, and has received numerous awards and acclamations including the 2007-2008 John Philip Sousa Foundation Sudler Silver Scroll, North America’s most prestigious award for community concert bands. The Tennessee Wind Symphony is dedicated to excellence in symphonic band performance and to providing quality band music to the people of Tennessee and the surrounding area. For more information about the TWS, please visit

The following Covid-19 protocols are observed:

  • Face-coverings are recommended inside the Cathedral.
  • Non-contact temperature checks may be required at the door.
  • Sign-in for contact tracing may be required.
  • Recommended physical distancing between family groups.
  • Seating follows CDC and TN State guidelines for worship.
  • Public water fountains are disabled on the premises.
  • Hand sanitizer stations are located throughout the Cathedral.

Thank you for your understanding.

Details: The event will be live-streamed at